2016 candidates for ISTE Board of Directors announced; member voting Nov. 8-29 - Tech Learning

2016 candidates for ISTE Board of Directors announced; member voting Nov. 8-29

DeKalb County School District CIO Gary Brantley  appointed to ISTE Board of Directors
Publish date:

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Nov. 3, 2016 – The International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE®) today announced the 2016 candidates for its board of directors. Four education leaders, including one incumbent, are running for two open board positions. Elected candidates will serve a three-year term beginning January 2017.

All current ISTE members may vote for up to two candidates. Voting will take place online beginning Nov. 8, 2016, and ending at 5 p.m. on Nov. 29, 2016.

The 2016 candidates for the ISTE Board of Directors are:

  • Randy Hansen, professor, University of Maryland University College, Columbia

Member ISTE affiliates: ICE-IL - Illinois Computing Educators, MSET - Maryland Society for Education Technology 

  • Chris Johnson, assistant professor, University of Arizona, Tucson

Member ISTE affiliate: AzTEA - Arizona Technology in Education Association 

  • Pam Lloyd, vice president, GCI Healthcare and Education, Anchorage, Alaska

Member ISTE affiliate: ASTE - Alaska Society for Technology in Education 

  • Janet Zanetis (incumbent), managing director, Center for Interactive Learning and Collaboration, Louisville, Kentucky

Member ISTE affiliates: KYSTE - Kentucky Society for Technology in Education, TETA - Tennessee Educational Technology Association 

For more information about the 2016 ISTE board candidates, visit https://www.iste.org/elections.

In addition, ISTE announced the appointment of Gary Brantley, chief information officer, DeKalb County School District, Stone Mountain, Georgia, to its 2017 board of directors. Brantley’s three-year term will begin in January 2017.

Brantley has more than 20 years of technology experience and 14 years of leadership experience. He earned his bachelor’s degree from Youngstown State University in Ohio and holds two master’s degrees, one from the University of Phoenix and another from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where he also completed the CIO leadership institute at the Sloan School of Management. He is a recent graduate of Leadership DeKalb, and was named one of the “Top 30 Technologists, Transformers and Trailblazers” by the Center for Digital Education.

Brantley began his career with IBM before moving on to MCI WorldCom as the regional operations director. After serving as the director of technology for the Ohio State Department, he became the chief information officer for the Lorain City School District, one of the largest urban school districts in Ohio. 

“Gary brings an outstanding combination of experience as a technology leader in education, government and corporate environments to the ISTE board,” said Chair Kecia Ray, Ed.D. “We’re honored to have him join the board and share his unique perspectives with us moving forward.”

The ISTE Board currently has two other appointed board members. S. Dallas Dance, Ph.D., superintendent, Baltimore County Public Schools, was appointed in 2014, and Karen Swift, head of faculty and a classroom teacher at James Nash State High School in Queensland, Australia, was appointed earlier in 2016.

About ISTE

The International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE®) is the premier nonprofit membership organization serving educators and education leaders committed to empowering connected learners in a connected world. ISTE serves more than 100,000 education stakeholders throughout the world.

Innovative offerings include the widely adopted ISTE Standards for learning, teaching and leading in the digital age – as well as the ISTE Conference & Expo – the world’s most comprehensive ed tech event. The organization’s robust suite of professional learning resources feature online courses, consulting services for schools and districts, books, and peer-reviewed journals and publications. For more information, visit iste.org. Connect with ISTE via Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn.



ISTE announces results of 2015 election for board of directors promo image

ISTE announces results of 2015 election for board of directors

The International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE®) today announced the results of its 2015 election for board of directors. Newly elected to the ISTE board is William “Bill” Bass, innovation coordinator for instructional technology, information and library media, Parkway School District, St. Louis, Mo., and adjunct professor of education, Missouri Baptist University. Returning to the board for a second term are Sheryl Nussbaum-Beach, CEO, Powerful Learning Practice, Virginia Beach, Va., and Mila Thomas Fuller, Ed.D., deputy executive director, National Council of Teachers of English, Urbana, Ill. All will serve three-year terms, beginning January 2016.

ISTE Announces 2014 Board of Directors

WASHINGTON, D.C. – May 13, 2014 – The International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE®) today announced its 2014 board of directors. Matt Harris, Ed.D., head of learning resources, German European School Singapore, Singapore, will serve as chair-elect beginning in June. Elected to second terms on the 12-member board are Laurie Conzemius, media specialist at ISD 309, Park Rapids, Minnesota; and Paige Johnson, education strategist at Intel Education, Hillsborough, Oregon. New to the board are Baltimore County Public Schools Superintendent S. Dallas Dance, Ph.D., and Hall Davidson, senior director of Discovery Education's Global Learning Initiatives.

ISTE announces results of 2015 election for board of directors promo image

ISTE Board Member S. Dallas Dance Named “20 to Watch” Honoree by the National School Boards Association

S. Dallas Dance, superintendent of the Baltimore County Public Schools and member of the board of directors of the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE®) was named a "20 to Watch" honoree for 2014-15 by the National School Boards Association's (NSBA) Technology Leadership Network. Dance is recognized for his ability to inspire colleagues to explore and embrace innovative technology solutions that contribute to high-quality instruction and support more personalized learning experiences for students.

Dr. Kecia Ray Assumes Presidency of ISTE Board of Directors

Board Officers Elected at ISTE 2013 Conference in San AntonioWASHINGTON, D.C. –July 17, 2013 –The International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE®) today announced its 2013-14 board officers. At the ISTE 2013 conference and expo in late June, Kecia Ray, Ed.D., took the helm of the board as president. Ray is the Executive Director of Learning Technologies and Library Services at the Metropolitan Nashville Public Schools.

ISTE 2013 Board Election Results Announced

Newly Elected Board Members Take Office at ISTE 2013 Conference in San AntonioWASHINGTON, D.C.– April 25, 2013 –The International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE®) today announced its 2013 board election results. The seven education leaders from around the world listed below will join nine continuing board members to lead the association as it advances learning and teaching through the innovative and effective use of technology in education.