Speakers: Tech Forum Texas 2014


Keynote Speaker
Alec Couros, Faculty of Ed., University of Regina, Regina, Canada
Follow on Twitter: @courosa

Dr. Alec Couros is a Professor of educational technology and media at the Faculty of Education, University of Regina. He has given hundreds of workshops and presentations, nationally and internationally, on topics such as openness in education, networked learning, social media in education, digital citizenship, and critical media literacy. His graduate and undergraduate courses help current and future educators understand how to use and take advantage of the educational potential offered by the tools of connectivity.
One of the many highlights of Tech & Learning's Tech Forum is the chance to hear from top-notch speakers addressing topics of vital interest to K-12 technology leaders. Here are some of the great presenters who will lead sessions at Tech Forum Texas on November 7:

Keynoter Alec Couros will start off the day with a thought-provoking look at "Identity, Networks and Connected Learning" and then lead a breakout session on "Understanding Digital Citizenship." Stuart Burt and Randy Rodgers will offer a close-up, hands-on look at Maker Spaces while Karen Fuller, Scott Floyd, Carl Hooker and Carolyn Foote join forces for a session on "Rethinking Learning Spaces," moderated by Kay Abernathy.

Sheryl Abshire, Bryan Doyle and Peter Griffiths will round out the morning by exploring the question: "What the Heck do we DO With All This Data?" In the afternoon, Fuller and Griffiths will join Steve Young and Wendy Jones for a session on "Navigating Meaningful Collaborations Between Technology and Instruction."

Rafranz Davis will lead a team, including Lisa Carnazzo, Andrea Keller, Aimee Bartis, Jennifer Woollven and Leslie Barrett, in a session on "Nurturing Passion, Wonder and Voice," while Carl Hooker challenges participants to an interactive learning challenge, "The Smartest Person in the Room."

And that's not all. During the after-lunch roundtables, you'll have more choices than ever before. In addition to lively discussions led by such thoughtful ed tech leaders as Alice Owen, Amy Mayer, Jessica Johnston, Juan Orozco, and Suzette McIntyre, there will be the option for attendees to participate in "unconference"-style discussions or to join a session with Sheryl Abshire on the future of the eRate. 

Association Partners

Copyright © 2012 NewBay Media, LLC. 28 East 28th Street, 12th Floor, New York, NY 10016 T (212) 378-0400 F (212) 378-0470