Skip to main content

Teachers Honored With Allen Distinguished Educators Award

Teachers Honored With Allen Distinguished Educators Award

The Allen Distinguished Educators (ADE) program has announced its 2016 cohort of teachers, who will receive a $25,000 award for pioneering work in education. The ADE award generated 81 initial applications representing 31 states. From 16 finalists, seven winning projects were chosen.

Founded by Seattle-based philanthropist Paul G. Allen, the program focuses on the integration of computer science, engineering and entrepreneurship into engaging, student-led learning.

At a ceremony at SXSWedu, awards were given to the following teaching teams:

· Chris Bartlo and Nicholas Nohner, grades 9-12
Computer Science Program from Wilson High School, Portland, Ore.

· Courtney Bryant, Reginald O’Neill and Beth White, grades k-11
Engineering & Entrepreneurship Program, Charles R. Drew Charter School, Atlanta, Ga.

· Patrick Dempsey and Rob Rambach, 8th grade
Engineering & Computer Science Program, Hixson Middle School, St. Louis, Mo.

· Dawn DuPriest and Tracey Winey, grades 6-8
Engineering & Computer Science, Preston Middle School, Fort Collins, Colo.

· Ashley Greenway, 1st grade
Computer Science, Engineering & Entrepreneurship Program, Elm Street Elementary, Rome, Ga.

· Alyson Nelson, grades 11-12
Engineering Program, Nikola Tesla STEM High School, Redmond, Wash.

· Jodie Woodruff, grades 9-12
Entrepreneurship Program, The Metropolitan Regional Career and Technical Center, Providence, R.I.

To see more about each winner’s project and the resources available through the ADE program, visit the ADE website.