Principal wins 2010 Distinguished Educator Award

Indianapolis is home to one of the nation’s top middle school educators. Honored for her drive, determination and expertise in converting a school in academic chaos and disarray into the city’s highest achieving middle school, Yvonne Rambo is the recipient of the 2010 National Middle School Association (NMSA) Distinguished Educator Award. At its meeting on Nov. 23, the Indianapolis Public Schools (IPS) Board of School Commissioners will recognize Rambo for the award.

Sponsored by NMSA and Pearson , this award recognizes outstanding practitioners in middle level education – those who have made a significant impact on the lives of young adolescents through leadership, vision and advocacy. Rambo is the principal at Indianapolis’ Willard J. Gambold Middle School,where she has launched innovative programs such as vocabulary immersion for English as a Second Language students and Breakfast Algebra, where eighth-graders can earn high school math credit.