Twelve public schools named as finalists in $1 million Solve for Tomorrow contest

Twelve public schools from across the country – Alabama, Arizona, California, Florida, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming – have won $70,000 in technology as finalists in Samsung’s Solve for Tomorrow contest, a national competition to raise enthusiasm for science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) education.

Four grand prize winners will be chosen by a panel of judges and the fifth, the Community Choice winner, will be determined by public online voting.

These 12 finalists now have a chance to win one of five grand prizes valued at $100,000 from Samsung, Microsoft, the Adobe Foundation, and DIRECTV:

Davenport School of the Arts Davenport, FL
Desert Wind Middle School Maricopa, AZ
Groton High School Groton, NY
Indian Trails Middle School Palm Coast, FL
Jackson Hole High School Jackson, WY
Jefferson Township Middle School Oak Ridge, NJ
Lawrence County High School Moulton, AL
Mercer School Mercer, WI
Neah Bay Junior/Senior High School Neah Bay, WA
Pleasant Hills Middle School Pleasant Hills, PA
Schoharie High School Schoharie, NY
Sutter Middle School Folsom, CA

Online voting for the Community Choice winner is open until 11:59 p.m. EST, March 12, 2012 at