Education industry coalition announces Community Builder Awards

The National Coalition for Technology in Education and Training (NCTET), a non-partisan organization dedicated to examining and supporting the use of technology to improve education, announced today that it will award six Community Builder Awards at its 2013 Bytes & Books Inaugural Ball. The award recognizes exemplary service in support of policies and practices designed to facilitate the effective integration of technology into teaching and learning across the nation’s education system.

The awardees are:

  • Rep. George Miller (D-Calif.), Ranking Member, Education & the Workforce Committee, U.S. House of Representatives
  • Bob Wise, President, Alliance for Excellent Education and former West Virginia Governor
  • Sheryl Abshire, Chief Technology Officer, Calcasieu Parish (LA) Public Schools
  • Anne L. Bryant, Executive Director, National School Boards Association
  • Don Knezek, CEO, International Society for Technology in Education
  • John Wilson, former Executive Director, National Education Association

The awards will be presented at NCTET’s 2013 Books & Bytes Inaugural Ball at the Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington, D.C. on Monday, Jan. 21, 2013.