2015 “Legends in Literacy” Recipients Chosen - Tech Learning

2015 “Legends in Literacy” Recipients Chosen

 myON  announces the winners of its 2nd annual “Legends in Literacy” Awards.
Publish date:

myON announces the winners of its 2nd annual “Legends in Literacy” Awards, designed to recognize one individual and one team for their work and commitment to literacy.

Individual winner:

Dr. Frances Gonzales-Garcia, Reading Specialist at Leon Springs Elementary School

On a weekly basis, Dr. Gonzalez-Garcia and her students work towards raising funds driven to help students, teachers and parents thrive in literacy. Through the iRead Initiative/Club, funds raised are used to purchase books for teenage mothers, cancer patients affiliated with Triumph Over Kid Cancer, pre-service reading teachers in the extended program at her university, students from low socio-economic campuses, at-risk students and dyslexic students on her very own elementary campus, countless teachers and even parents.

Group winner:

Gainesville City School System Learning Supports District Group’s Read and Rise Program

In its 3rd year, the Read and Rise program is a unique partnership between Gainesville City Schools and the Gainesville Housing Authority aimed at providing opportunities to increase student achievement in reading. Read and Rise affords the families of these students tools to help their children read at home and support to become more involved in their child's learning.



Media Literacy Award

The National Council of Teachers of English's Commission on Media will award the 4th annual Media Literacy Award at the NCTE Annual Convention in Philadelphia. Applications must be submitted no later than Monday, June 15, 2009. The winner will be

Council of Administrators of Special Education (CASE) Re-Endorses Academy of MATH as Comprehensive Classroom Intervention Tool promo image

EPS Literacy and Intervention Honors 2015 Academy Star Award Winners

EPS Literacy and Intervention, a division of School Specialty, Inc. (OTCQB: SCOO), today announced the winners of its 2015 Academy Star Awards, honoring students who have overcome significant challenges to improve their reading and math skills. The Academy Star Awards also recognize dedicated teachers who work every day to provide their students with the opportunity to achieve academic mastery. Six students and six teachers were honored in this year’s award program.