Skip to main content

2016 McGraw Prize in Education Winners Announced

2016 McGraw Prize in Education Winners Announced

McGraw-Hill Education has honored education leaders for 28 years through its Harold W. McGraw Hill, Jr. Prize in Education, honoring some of the world's top education influencers, like Geoffrey Canada, Sal Khan and Wendy Kopp. This year's 2016 Harold W. McGraw Hill, Jr. Prize in Education recipients are:

  • Anant Agarwal,CEO of edX and MIT Professor – U.S. High Education prize recipient as an outstanding leader in the development of the Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) movement, making education accessible to millions of students around the world.
  • Alberto M. Carvalho,Superintendent of the Miami-Dade school district – U.S. K-12 prize recipient for his exemplary leadership in raising standards and improving graduation rates in a complex urban district.
  • Sakena Yacoobi, CEO of the Afghan Institute of Learning – International Education prize recipient setting an inspiring example of transformational effect on communities in Afghanistan, particularly in education for girls and women.

McGraw-Hill Education, in new partnership with Arizona State University on this prize, will honor the 2016 winners for their exceptional accomplishments in education at the ASU + GSV Education Innovation Summit in San Diego on April 19th.