Funding awarded for 9 new Tech Network schools

Arkansas Governor Beebe’s Workforce Cabinet announced the recipients of the STEM Works Initiative grants that will provide funding for implementation of nine additional Arkansas New Tech Network (NTN) high schools in the fall of 2012 and continued and expanded support for the first NTN schools to open in 2011. New Tech Network schools will receive $150,000 each while Lincoln and Cross County, as existing New Tech schools, will each receive $75,000.

STEM Works is a state initiative focused on science, technology, engineering and math in high school education.

NTN is a national non-profit school development organization that uses project-based learning, a transformative school culture and a deep integration of technology and blended learning.