Winners of $60K "Dream It. Code It. Win It." Student Coding Competition Named

TradingScreen Inc. and the MIT Enterprise Forum of New York announce the finalists for the second annual “Dream it. Code it. Win it." competition. The student coding competition was judged based on the quality of the problem being tackled as well as the solution, with the aim to promote creativity, diversity and literacy in the field of computer science.

Winners were awarded close to $70,000 in cash and prizes.

Dream it. Code it. Win it. was organized by Cristina Dolan, MIT Media Lab Alumna and Co-Founder of OneMain (IPO & Acquired), who founded the event in 2014 and won the Traders Magazine Charitable Contribution Award and an MIT Volunteer Honor Roll. Four of the 2014 teams of finalists went on to launch companies from their submissions.

The High School team winners include:

Future Pioneers Award sponsored by TradingScreen
Spirometer: Maya Varma – Presentation High School

MRI for Kids: Cal Stephens – Davidson Fine Arts Magnet School

Amazon’s Shopbop Career Tech Day Prize
MyCloset: Alexandra Massello – Convent of the Sacred Heart

Safe Alert:Janelle Maxwell, Kylinn Askew, Isabella Libassi, Concetta Brusco, Emma Novick – Convent of the Sacred Heart

Kaplan Test Prep Course Prize
Just Smile: Porfirio Mohabir, Esi Mcallen, Mona Naser, Bassy Sissoko, Shahan Rahman, Krista Mayes – Academy for Software Engineering

TYWLSA: Maria Diaz, Jennifer Caceres, Michelle Morales, Gabriela Cuautle, Margot Richaud, Daniela Leguisamo, Geraldine Agredo – The Young Women’s School of Astoria

Microsoft Surface Pro Prize
LifeCycle: Declan Sidoti, Alston Chau, Pomeroy Mohabir, James Li, Mohammed Hussain – Academy for Software Engineering
Realest: Yasmeen Roumie, Sammi Wu Leung – Stuyvesant High School

Safety in Numbers: Roy Xu, Angela Lin, Leon Chou – Stuyvesant High School

Samsung Career Tech Day Prize

High-rise Hackers: Chloe Kaubisch, Nelli Spektor, Rick Melucci, Loren Maggiore – Stuyvesant High School
Fun to Bike: Justin Strauss, Angela Lin – Stuyvesant High School

Ferries: David Bang, Dionis Wang, Anish Malhotra, Eric Kilbusz – Stuyvesant High School