Skip to main content

The Best Grants for Education for 2020 & Beyond

Green apple with superimposed $100 bill
(Image credit: iStock.com/michaelquirk)

K-12 schools and districts face new budget shortfalls as demand increases for hardware, software, and infrastructure. As traditional sources of funding decrease, securing grants is a reasonable supplement to established funding. 

Click here to download our free Grant Writing Guide that includes grant sources, step-by-step grant writing tips, a grant-writing rubric, and strategies for grant writing success. 

What follows is a list of grants available for K-12 schools and districts, including deadlines. 

July 2020 Grants & Deadlines

July 1

Mazda Foundation http://www.mazdafoundation.org/grant-guidelines/ 

July 15

ecoSolutions https://captainplanetfoundation.org/grants/ecosolution/ 

ecoTech http://captainplanetf.wpengine.com/grants/ecotech/ 

ecoSTEM https://captainplanetfoundation.org/grants/ecostem/ 

Educators of America https://educatorsusa.org/our-programs/micro-grants/ 

July 31

FM Global Fire Prevention Grant Program https://fs20.formsite.com/fmglobal/form14/index.html 

From Failure to Promise https://www.fromfailuretopromise.com/educators 

August 2020 Grants & Deadlines

August 1

American Honda Foundation Grants http://www.honda.com/community/applying-for-a-grant 

August 8

Innovative Technology Experiences for Students and Teachers (ITEST) https://www.nsf.gov/pubs/2017/nsf17565/nsf17565.htm?WT.mc_id=USNSF_25&WT.mc_ev=click 

August  25

NSF Teacher Scholarship Program https://www.nsf.gov/funding/pgm_summ.jsp?pims_id=5733&org=NSF 

September 2020 Grants & Deadlines

September 1

Toshiba America Foundation Science and Math Grants For Grades 6 – 12 www.toshiba.com/taf/612.jsp 

September 13

Foundation for Rural Service Annual Grant Program https://www.frs.org/programs/grant-program

September 21

First Energy STEM Classroom Grants https://www.firstenergycorp.com/community/education/educational_grants.html 

(Note: actual date not available. Will be posted in the spring.)

September 30 

Captain Planet Foundation Grants 

https://captainplanetfoundation.org/wp-content/uploads/CPF_Granting_Guidelines.pdf 

October 2020 Grants & Deadlines

October 1 

Association of American Educators Foundation Classroom Grant http://www.aaeteachers.org/index.php/classroom-grant-application 

Educators of America https://www.educatorsusa.org/educator-and-technology-grants 

E2 Energy to Educate grant program https://www.constellation.com/community/e2-energy-to-educate.html 

Toshiba America Foundation Grants For Grades K – 5 http://www.toshiba.com/taf/k5.jsp 

Target Field Trip Grants corporate.target.com/corporate-responsibility/grants/field-trip-grants 

October 15 

NEA Foundation Learning & Leadership Grants https://www.neafoundation.org/for-educators/learning-and-leadership-grants/

October 31

Lawrence Foundation Education Grants www.thelawrencefoundation.org/ 

November 2020 Grants & Deadlines

November 1

Toshiba America Foundation Science and Math Grants For Grades 6 – 12 www.toshiba.com/taf/612.jsp 

National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (multiple grants)

https://www.nctm.org/Grants/ 

November 30

FM Global Fire Prevention Grant Program https://fs20.formsite.com/fmglobal/form14/index.html 

December 2020 Grants & Deadlines

December 1

ALSC Baker & Taylor Summer Reading Grant www.ala.org/alsc/awardsgrants/profawards/bakertaylor 

ITEEA Awards and Scholarships www.iteea.org/Activities/AwardsScholarships.aspx 

Toshiba America Foundation Science and Math Grants For Grades 6 – 12 www.toshiba.com/taf/612.jsp 

December 4

Samsung Solve for Tomorrow http://www.samsung.com/us/solvefortomorrow/ 

December 18 

National Science Teachers Association Awards www.nsta.org/about/awards.aspx 

The Vernier/NSTA Technology Awards www.vernier.com/grants/nsta/ 

January 2021 Grants & Deadlines

January 1

Educators of America https://www.educatorsusa.org/educator-and-technology-grants 

January 10

Earthwatch Teach Earth Fellowships www.earthwatch.org/education/teacher-fellowships/teach-earth-united-states 

January 12

CenturyLink Teachers and Technology Grant Program https://online.foundationsource.com/ws/index.jsp?site=CenturyLinkGrant  

January 15

ecoSolutions https://captainplanetfoundation.org/grants/ecosolution/ 

ecoTech http://captainplanetf.wpengine.com/grants/ecotech/ 

ecoSTEM https://captainplanetfoundation.org/grants/ecostem/ 

January 17

AIAA Foundation Classroom Grant https://www.aiaa.org/get-involved/students-educators/aiaa-foundation-classroom-grant-program

January 31

International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) Awards www.iste.org/lead/awards 

Innovative Technology Grant https://innovteched.com/itefgrant/

February 2021 Grants & Deadlines

February 1 

American Honda Foundation Grants https://www.honda.com/community/applying-for-a-grant 

NEA Foundation Learning & Leadership Grants https://www.neafoundation.org/for-educators/learning-and-leadership-grants/ 

February 3

Steelcase Active Learning Center Grant www.steelcase.com/activelearningcenter

Motorola Solutions Foundation https://www.motorolasolutions.com/en_us/about/company-overview/corporate-responsibility/motorola-solutions-foundation.html 

February 15

Vernier Engineering Contest www.vernier.com/grants/engineering/ 

March 2021 Grants & Deadlines

March 1

Association of American Educators Foundation Classroom Grant http://www.aaeteachers.org/index.php/classroom-grant-application 

Toshiba America Foundation Science and Math Grants For Grades 6 – 12 www.toshiba.com/taf/612.jsp 

March 15

ILA Nila Banton Smith Teacher as Researcher Grant https://www.literacyworldwide.org/about-us/awards-grants/ila-nila-banton-smith-teacher-as-researcher-grant

The Braitmayer Foundation http://www.braitmayerfoundation.org/guidelines/

Vernier Ecology/ Environmental Teaching Award www.vernier.com/grants/nabt/ 

March 31

FM Global Fire Prevention Grant Program https://fs20.formsite.com/fmglobal/form14/index.html 

April 2021 Grants & Deadlines

April 1

Educators of America https://www.educatorsusa.org/educator-and-technology-grants 

April 6

Lemelson-MIT InvenTeams Grant www.web.mit.edu/inventeams/ 

April 15

America’s Farmers Grow Rural Education https://www.americasfarmers.com/grow-rural-education/

McCarthey Dressman Education Foundation Grants https://mccartheydressman.org/teacher-development-grants/

April 30 

Voya Unsung Heroes Awards Program https://www.scholarsapply.org/unsungheroes/ 

May 2021 Grants & Deadlines

May 1

American Honda Foundation Grants http://www.honda.com/community/applying-for-a-grant 

Toshiba America Foundation Science and Math Grants For Grades 6 – 12 www.toshiba.com/taf/612.jsp 

May 4

National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (multiple grants)

https://www.nctm.org/Grants/ 

May 15

Innovative Educator Grant http://www.blendedandonlinelearning.org/grant-program/

May 25 

ASM Living in a Material World Grant www.asminternational.org/foundation/teachers/teacher-grants-k12

June 2021 Grants & Deadlines

June 1

NEA Foundation Learning & Leadership Grants https://www.neafoundation.org/for-educators/learning-and-leadership-grants/ 

Toshiba America Foundation Science and Math Grants For Grades 6 – 12 www.toshiba.com/taf/612.jsp 

June 30 

APC K-12 Server Room Makeover Contest http://k12makeover.apc.com/

The Sharon Gewirtz Kids to Concerts Fund www.sites.google.com/site/gewirtzkidstoconcerts/

Informal Funding Grants

Adopt-A-Classroom www.adoptaclassroom.org/ 

Booster https://www.booster.com/ 

Class Wish www.classwish.org/ 

Classy https://www.classy.org/ 

Computers for Learning www.computersforlearning.gov/ 

Computer Recycling Center http://www.crc.org/ 

DonorsChoose www.donorschoose.org

Digital Wish http://www.digitalwish.com 

PledgeCents https://www.pledgecents.com/ 

Ongoing Grants

After School Advantage Program https://www.igt.com/explore-igt/about-igt/global-responsibility/supporting-our-communities/after-school-advantage-program

Awesome Foundation www.awesomefoundation.org/en 

Beckman Coulter Foundation http://beckmancoulterfoundation.org/grant/ 

Beyond Words http://www.ala.org/aasl/awards/beyond-words

Brown Rudnick Community Grants http://www.brownrudnickcenter.com/foundation/community-grant-application

Farrell Family Foundation Grants www.farrellfamilyfoundation.com/ 

First LEGO League Scholarships https://www.firstinspires.org/scholarships 

Google RISE Awards https://worldscholarshipforum.com/google-rise-award/ 

Kids in Need Foundation www.kinf.org/grants/ 

Lockheed Martin STEM Grants www.lockheedmartin.com/us/who-we-are/community/philanthropy.html

McWane Foundation http://www.mcwane.com/corporate-responsibility/community/charitable-giving-guidelines

Michael & Susan Dell Foundation Grants https://www.msdf.org/apply/ 

Naiku Innovative Educator Grants http://www.naiku.net/grants/ 

National Endowment for the Humanities https://www.neh.gov/grants 

Omron Foundation http://www.omronfoundation.omron.com/guidelines.php 

Reiman Foundation Grants www.reimanfoundation.org/ 

SC Johnson https://www.scjohnson.com/en/our-purpose/social-responsibility-news/community-and-economic-development/sc-johnson-grants-our-guidelines-and-focus-areas 

Sony Corporation of America http://www.sonypictures.com/corp/corporateimpact.html 

SparkFun Community Partner https://www.sparkfun.com/pages/sponsorships 

Teaching Tolerance Educator Grants https://www.tolerance.org/educator-grants 

Toshiba America Science and Math Grants For Grades 6 – 12 www.toshiba.com/taf/612.jsp 

Verizon Foundation https://www.verizon.com/about/responsibility/grant-requirements 

VWR Foundation http://www.vwrfoundation.org/grant-guidelines.htm

Westinghouse Charitable Giving Program http://www.westinghousenuclear.com/About/Community-and-Education/Charitable-Giving-Program/Program-Details-and-Application-Process 

Click here to download our free Grant Writing Guide that includes grant sources, step-by-step grant writing tips, a grant-writing rubric, and strategies for grant writing success.