Pearson Announces 2016 Online Learning Excellence Award Recipients

Pearson Announces 2016 Online Learning Excellence Award Recipients

Pearson has announced this year’s online learning excellence award recipients honoring K-20 educators and administrators who are making significant contributions in online education. The company will donate $1,500 to the scholarship fund of each winner’s choice.

K-12 Recipients of the Excellence in Online Administration Award include:

  • Seith Bedard, Director, Peabody Learning Academy, Peabody, Massachusetts.
  • The dropout rate at Peabody High School, a school of 2,000 students, was five percent annually before the start of this program. Today only 1.4 percent of students drop out of high school.
  • David Cline, Principal, Hart-Ransom Academic Charter School, Modesto, California
    HRACS serves homeschooling students in grades TK-8 and grades 9-12. In conjunction with faculty and staff, Cline achieved excellence in online education through creative and innovative leadership and by implementing online platforms to prepare students for their future.

K-12 Recipients of the Excellence in Online Teaching Award include:

  • Sarah Allen, First Grade Teacher, Indian Creek School, Crownsville, Maryland
    Sarah Allen created two courses for the youngest blended learning students, grades 1-5, and pioneered the school’s program to enable students to gain a deeper understanding of course content as well as gain confidence in a blended environment.
  • Dianne Hardy, Lead Mathematics Instructor, Mountain Education Charter High School, Cleveland, Georgia
    Hardy is a strong advocate for online curriculum over printed materials and, under her leadership, the school team ensures that its online programs are designed to be prescriptive and provide instructional feedback that allows the classroom teacher to better meet the needs of the student.