Skip to main content

Three Innovators Named Winners of The Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education

Three Innovators Named Winners of The Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education

The winners of the 2017 Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education were announced today. The Prize, founded in 1988 to honor the retiring former CEO, recognizes outstanding individuals who have dedicated themselves to improving education through new approaches. It is administered through an alliance between McGraw-Hill Education and Arizona State University, which began in 2015. The winners were recognized in three categories – U.S. K-12 Education, U.S. Higher Education and International Education – and will each receive an award of $50,000 and an iconic McGraw Prize bronze sculpture.

The 2017 McGraw Prize winners are:

  • Dr. Christine Cunningham, Founder and Director of Engineering is Elementary (EiE) at the Museum of Science in Boston is receiving the U.S. K-12 Education prize for pioneering a curriculum that is transforming education by introducing engineering concepts and practices at the elementary level.
  • Dr. Sandy Shugart, President of Valencia College, is receiving the U.S. Higher Education prize for demonstrating a stellar model of community college change that is increasing graduation rates and helping large numbers of Hispanic students succeed.
  • Chris Anderson, Curator of TED, the non-profit that produces TED Talks, is receiving the International Education award for providing a platform that brings ideas and inspiration to millions of learners around the world and to teachers and students in classrooms.

A Prize reception will be held at the 2017 ASU GSV Summit in Salt Lake City on May 9th, and the winners will be recognized during a keynote at the event on May 10th.