Librarians Win Information Technology Award

School library media specialists in Kansas and Louisiana have been named the two winners of this year’s American Association of School Librarians (AASL) Information Technology Pathfinder Award, sponsored by Follett Software Company.

This year’s winners are Jennifer Gorup of Quail Run Elementary School in Lawrence, Kan., and Melanie LeJeune of St. Louis Catholic High School in Lake Charles, La. Each will be presented with checks for $1,000, while their school libraries will receive $500.

The award recognizes and honors a school library media specialist demonstrating vision and leadership through the use of information technology to build lifelong learners.