Colorado Schools Receive $15k Tech, Innovation and STEM Awards

Colorado Schools Receive $15k Tech, Innovation and STEM Awards

Two educators from Colorado Springs District 11 won The Succeeds Prize 2018 for Excellence in Technology Enabled Learning during a celebration honoring Colorado public schools and educators. The $15,000 prize, presented by Arrow Electronics, was awarded to Sean Wybrant, Colorado’s 2017 Teacher of the Year and teacher at William J. Palmer High School and Scott Fuller, next generation learning coordinator for District 11, to fund their idea to partner with students in Saipan to create augmented and virtual reality learning experiences.

The Succeeds Prize—a partnership between 9NEWS, Colorado Succeeds and mindSpark Learning— recognizes Colorado’s transformational public schools and educators who are driving strong student success. It also seeks to provide forward-thinking educators with seed funding to bring their big ideas to fruition.

[Teacher: Know Thyself – School Culture Shift is About the People]

The Technology Enabled Learning Award from The Succeeds Prize will allow Sean to expand augmented and virtual reality experiences for his students, as well as for learners in Saipan. The award money will support students with creating 3D models from East Carolina University's Maritime Studies department, the Smithsonian and students from Kagman High School in Saipan to teach others about the Saipan Maritime Heritage Trail and Battle of Saipan. The funding will also help students to share their work on a broader scale, including via podcasts.

In addition to receiving the cash prizes, each winning school will also receive customized professional training from mindSpark Learning, a non-profit dedicated to re-engineering education through educators with unique professional learning experiences for both the school leader and teacher.