ISTE 2013 Awards Honor Education Leaders

Today the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE®) announced the education leaders that will be honored at ISTE 2013, in San Antonio, June 23-26.

North Carolina’s Rowan-Salisbury School System is the winner of the 2013 Sylvia Charp Award for District Innovation in Technology, which recognizes a school system that exhibits effectiveness and innovation in the application of technology.

Honored with this year’s Outstanding Leader Award is Chris Lehmann, founding principal of the Science Leadership Academy, an inquiry-driven, project-based, one-to-one laptop science and technology high school in Philadelphia.

The Outstanding TeacherAward goes to high school English teacher and author of “The Nerdy Teacher” blog, Nicholas Provenzano.

The Public Policy Advocate Award, honoring an outstanding and enthusiastic individual for advocating for education technology policy,is awarded to Kurt Kiefer, assistant state superintendent at the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction.

Karen Lirenman, an elementary teacher from Surrey School District in Surrey, British Columbia, is the recipient of the 2013 Kay L. Bitter Vision Award, which recognizes a PK–2 educator whose work has had a significant positive impact on the use of technology in education.

ISTE’s Outstanding Young Educator Award, honoring a teacher under the age of 35, goes to Krista Moroder, K-12 technology integrator at the Kettle Moraine School District in Wales, Wis.

Receiving the SIGOL (ISTE’s online learning special interest group) Online Learning Award for the use of telecommunication networks to provide innovative learning opportunities for students are Lisa Parisi, teacher, Denton Avenue Elementary School, New Hyde Park, NY; and Donna Román, teacher, Mill Creek School, Geneva, Ill.

Teams honored with the SIGMS (ISTE’s media specialist special interest group) Technology Innovation Award honoring a school librarian and collaborating teacher who conduct an exemplary technology program extending beyond the library are:

§ Matthew Winner, library media specialist, Albert Yoo, teacher, Longfellow Elementary School, Columbia, Md.; and Gretchen Welk, teacher, and Sherry Gick, librarian, Rossville Elementary School, Rossville, Ind.

§ Elizabeth Kahn, librarian, and Lisa Valence, English/Language Arts and math teacher, Patrick F. Taylor Science & Technology Academy, Jefferson, La.

All of this year’s honorees will receive complimentary registration to ISTE 2013 in San Antonio as well as a one-year standard ISTE membership, in addition to various other prize winnings.