Who Won the Race to the North Pole?

It is now generally agreed that Robert Peary and Matthew Henson won the race to the North Pole by reaching it on April 6, 1909. Not long after they returned to civilization, however, they learned that their feat was disputed by Dr. Frederick Cook, who claimed to have reached the pole the year earlier. This interesting lesson asks that you explore this question by looking at the provided primary sources supporting the claims of both Peary and Cook. The lesson is set up as a mock trial with worksheets provided for analyzing written documents, for setting up opening arguments, and for establishing closing arguments. Will you support Peary’s claims or will the Cook argument win you over?

courtesy of Knovation