NSBA Celebrates "20 to Watch" Ed Tech Leaders

The National School Boards Association (NSBA)’s Technology Leadership Network (TLN) has named its “20 to Watch” honors for 2011-2012. These education leaders from across the country are being recognized for promoting the incorporation of innovative technology into high-quality classroom learning and school district operations.

“20 to Watch” program was established in 2006. This year’s honorees will be recognized at 2012 Consortium for School Networking (CoSN) Conference on March 5 in Washington and also at TLN-hosted luncheon at NSBA’s 2012 Annual Conference in Boston this April. They also will be showcased in future NSBA education technology publications.

The 2011-2012 honorees are (listed by state/territory):

Matt Akin, Superintendent, Piedmont City School District, Piedmont, Ala.

Felicia Owen, Math Teacher, Lavaca High School, Lavaca Public Schools, Lavaca, Ark.

Mike Lawrence, Executive Director, Computer-Using Educators, Inc. (CUE), Placentia, Ca.

District of Columbia

Alex Inman, Director of Information Services, Sidwell Friends School, Washington, D.C.

James Roodhouse, Technology Director, Geneseo Community Unit School District 228, Geneseo, Ill.

Andrew Markel, Ed.S., Technology Director, Crothersville Community Schools, Crothersville, Ind.

Kay Reinoehl, Technology Director, East Noble School Corporation, Kendallville, Ind.

Greg Lumb, Principal, Morris Hill Elementary, Geary County Unified School District 475, Junction City, Kan.

Arlene Vidaurri Cain, AP/Gifted Science Teacher, Lake Charles Boston Academy of Learning, Calcasieu Parish School System, Lake Charles, La.

New York
Jeannette Gautier-Downes, Instructional Technology Professional Developer, District 75/P.S. 811, Queens, N.Y.

Marc Lesser, Education Director, MOUSE, New York, N.Y.

Greg Partch, Director of Education Technology, Hudson Falls Central School District, Hudson Falls, N.Y.

Dr. Dale P. Lynch, Superintendent, Hamblen County Schools, Morristown, Tenn.

Kyle Davie, Chief Technology Officer, Fort Worth Independent School District, Fort Worth, Texas

Andrea Keller, LIFE K-5 Special Education Teacher, Elliott Elementary School, Irving Independent School District, Irving, Texas

Darlene Rankin, Director, Instructional Technology, Katy Independent School District (KISD), Katy, Texas

John “Coach” Brishcar, Teacher, Warren County Middle School, Warren County Schools, Front Royal, Va.

Janet Platenberg, Principal, Steuart Weller Elementary, Loudoun County Public Schools, Ashburn, Va.

Melany Reeves Stowe, Communication Coordinator, Henry County Public Schools, Collinsville, Va.

Lisa Greseth, Manager, Information and Instructional Technology, Vancouver Public Schools, Vancouver, Wash.

Since 1987, TLN has served local district leadership teams that establish policy and implement technology decisions to enhance teaching and learning, administrative operations, and community outreach.