Former FCC Commissioner Michael J. Copps recognized with 2012 Public Service Award

The Consortium for School Networking (CoSN) today announced that former Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Commissioner Michael J. Copps is the recipient of the association’s Award for Excellence in Public Service. The award recognizes Copps for his steadfast advocacy and support of K-12 ed tech-related legislation throughout his career.

“Commissioner Copps has played an integral role in pushing policies that equip schools and districts nationwide with the services and technologies needed to enhance teaching and learning,” said CoSN CEO Keith Krueger. “His efforts have bolstered support for and awareness of the importance of providing students with a 21st century education, and Commissioner Copps’ legacy at the FCC will be greatly missed. On behalf of the entire education technology community, we’re privileged to honor him.”

CoSN selected Copps as this year’s public service award honoree due to his long-standing leadership in promoting the federal e-Rate Program. As FCC Commissioner, Copps continually emphasized the program’s benefits and underscored the importance of additional funding resources.

“I am humbled to receive this award and remain encouraged by CoSN’s determined efforts as the voice in ed tech leadership,” said Copps. “Today’s ever-evolving technologies and tools have raised the standard for our K-12 classrooms, and to ensure students learn in an environment that matches our innovative time, it’s essential we provide them with the best resources. As we move forward, I am eager to assist CoSN and its partners to truly transcend education.”

Copps recently completed his second term as FCC Commissioner on December 31, 2011, which included a stint as Acting FCC Chairman from January 22, 2009 to June 28, 2009. In addition to his FCC career, Copps served as Sen. Hollings’ Chief of Staff for over 12 years before holding positions with a Fortune 500 company and a major trade association. Copps returned to the government in 1996, when he served as Deputy Assistant Secretary and Assistant Secretary for Trade Development at the U.S. Department of Commerce.

Click here to read past recipients of the Award for Excellence in Public Service.