Grimms' Fairy Tales: Unvarnished Versions

Grimms' Fairy Tales: Unvarnished Versions

The original stories collected by the Grimm Brothers were actually much 'grim-er'. Over the years, various societal forces have modified these stories, making them more palatable to modern audiences. Here you can read twelve online stories based on a 1914 translation which adheres closely to the original versions the Grimms collected. Four of the stories, "The Bremen-Town Musicians," "The Frog King," "Cinderella," and "The Seven Ravens," are available in audio. Other features of the site include a timeline of the Grimms' lives, an article about the Brothers Grimm from "National Geographic," and a kids' activity.

National Geographic

• Audio

• High School Middle School Elementary School

Diane Gabbard