Design Achievement Award Winners

On August 7, 2003, Adobe honored students who participated in the third annual Adobe Design Achievement Awards, a program that recognizes outstanding projects by talented students of graphic design, illustration, digital film, and computer art from leading design schools. The ceremony was held at the Art Institute of Chicago, and showcased student entries and winners to an audience of more than 250 local creative professionals.

Entries in seven categories, ranging from print and photography to digital media, were received from nearly 1000 college students from the United States, Canada, and the United Kingdom. By recognizing achievements that assimilate the convergence of technology with creative artistic expression, Adobe hopes to foster a new generation of designers, showcase student work, and "kick start some promising young careers."

Some of those whose careers will be getting a boost are mentioned here. To view winning entries and get info on submitting work next year, visit

Time-Based Media

First Place-Philippe Vendrolini, California College of Arts and Crafts, San Francisco, CA

Second place-Toby Kaufmann-Buhler, Royal College of Art, London

Third Place-Danielle Aubert, Yale University, New Haven, CT


First Place-Danielle Aubert, Yale University

Second Place-Alexander Shoukas, Art Center College of Design

Third Place-Hirotomi Suzuki, Academy of Art College


First Place-Anthony Guagliano, Art Center College of Design

Second Place-Melissa Fatto, Parsons School of Design, New York

Third Place-Kimberlee Whaley, Minneapolis College of Art and Design, Minneapolis


First Place-Yasushi Umibe, Academy of Art College, San Francisco

Second Place-Heesun Shin, School of Visual Arts, New York

Third Place-Joeng-kwon Gye, Pratt Institute, Brooklyn, NY

Experimental Design

Willy Wong, Yale University

Group Print Media

First Place-Jae-Hyouk Sung and Matthew Normand, California Institute of the Arts, Valencia, CA

Second Place-Andrew Bennet and Raffi Simonian, California Institute of the Arts

Third Place-Elizabeth Buchta and Alisa Benfey, California Institute of the Arts

Group Digital Media

Single Winners-Evan Schoonmaker and Eric

Finkelman, the School of Visual Arts, New York

29 honorable mentions were also awarded.

Read other articles from the November Issue