Video Microscope Grants

The Realize Science Technology Grant has awarded $10,000 worth of science education equipment and curriculum tools to teachers across the country who submitted the most creative, innovative and educationally valuable uses of hand-held video microscopes.

Each of the teachers below received a new hand-held video microscope with software to take still pictures, video and time lapse movies, and a curriculum designed to meet both state and national science standards.

- Abby Johnson, 4th Grade Teacher, Arcola Elementary School, Arcola, IN
- Jill Jensen, Science Specialist, Glacier Hills School of Art and Science, Eagan, MN
- NancyLee Bergey, University of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Education, Philadelphia, PA
- Kristina Davis, Science Teacher, Potomac School, Bonner, MT
- Dawn Boyer, GT Educator, Byram Inter Intermediate School, Byram, NJ
- Thomas Means, Science Instructor, Justice Alma Wilson SeeWorth Academy and Alternative Education School, Oklahoma City, OK
- April Stone, 3rd Grade Teacher, South Street Elementary, Opelousas, LA
- Sherry Mobley, Director of Advancement, St. Augustine School, Archdiocese of Baltimore, Elkridge, MD
- Deborah Abernathy, Kindergarten Teacher, Irving Elementary, Winfield, KS
- Erin Blankenship, English II & III Teacher, Lindsay High School, Lindsay, OK
- Richard Huey, Biology Instructor, St. David's School, Raleigh, NC
- Lana Duvall, Science Teacher, Krotz Springs Elementary, Krotz Springs, LA
- Theresa Knipe, Science Teacher, Scott Middle School, Hammond, IN
- Peggy Simone, K-5 Science Teacher, Flagstaff Academy Charter School, Longmont, CO
- Claire Laquerre, Science Teacher, Woonsocket High School, Woonsocket, RI
- Dr. Tracee Panetti, Biology Teacher, Moorestown High School, Moorestown, NJ
- Elliott Bennett, Biology Instructor, Martha's Vineyard Regional High School, Vineyard Haven, MA
- Jenny Berelson, Technology Curriculum Specialist, University of Hartford Magnet School & Great Path Academy, Hartford, CT

The grant is being offered again this year, with a deadline of December 31, 2009.

For more information, visit